Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today congratulated the eminent filmmakers from Odisha who have been nominated to receive 64th National Film Award announced yesterday.  Patnaik posted the congratulatory message on mirco-blogging site Twitter.  Renowned film directors Nila Madhab Panda and Lipika Singh Darai have bagged the coveted awards at the annual event in feature and non-feature film categories. Panda-directed Hindi movie ‘Kadvi Hawa’ won special mention award produced by Eleeanora Images Private Ltd. The movie highlights the farmer’s struggle against the changing environmental conditions.  Similarly, Lipika Singh Darai has won national award in the non feature film category for best educational film ‘The Waterfall’. The movie has been directed by Darai and produced by Syed Sultan Ahmed. The duo will receive a Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000 each. The movie portrays the issues of development and displacement through the eyes of an endearing protagonist  Besides, two other Odias have also bagged National Film Award in the Best Arts/Cultural Film category. Shibu Prusty directed ‘The Lord of the Universe’ and Shankhajeet De directed ‘In The Shadow of Time’ have been awarded in the above category. The duo will receive Rajat Kamal and Rs 50,000 each.  The Odisha Sun Times Bureau : 9th. Apr,17



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: