“I DO NOT BASE MY CAREER ON ANY AWARD” : SAYS ACTOR MANOJ BAJPAYEE

Manoj Bajpayee was being touted as one of the contenders for the National Award this year for his acclaimed performance in ‘Aligarh’, but the actor said losing out to Akshay Kumardid not disappoint him. The 48-year-old actor insists that he does not yearn for recognition. Bajpayee received lot of acclaim for his portrayal of a gay professor in the Hansal Mehta-directed film ‘Aligarh’.  This year’s National Award for best actor went to Akshay for ‘Rustom’. Bajpayee has won two National Awards- best actor in supporting role for ‘Satya’ and special jury award for ‘Pinjar’.  “For me, it has always been easy to move on from disappointments in life. I am used to it. I don’t base my life and career on any award in this country. Awards shouldn’t be defining you as a person or as an actor,” Bajpayee said.  “The support that I got from the people was quite overwhelming. At the same time, I would like to congratulate all the winners. Let them celebrate. I will get my chances definitely in the future,” he said. Bajpayee’s latest film ‘Sarkar 3’ marks his reunion with director Ram Gopal Varma after almost 14 years.  The Times of  India : 14th. May,17

Leave a Reply

