ACTOR VINDU DARA SINGH WILL DEBUT AT DELHI’s RAMLILA THIS YEAR :

Actor Vindu Dara Singhcomes to Delhi almost every year during the Navaratra to watch the capital’s Ramlilas. He says that although he has watched almost every popular Ramlila here, he hasn’t been to the Luv Kush Ramlila at the Red Fort. But this year, the actor has got a chance to be there, not as a guest, but a performer. “It is such a coincidence. I have been planning to watch the Luv Kush Ramlila for a long time, but now I will be performing on stage there as Vishwamitra. I have been watching Ramlilas in Delhi for years. One of my friends used to have a food stall in different Ramlilas here. So I would go with him, watch performances and eat the best of Delhi food,” says Singh, who has played the role of Hanuman in some TV shows. “Since my father played the role of Lord Hanuman in Ramanand Sagar‘s ‘Ramayan’, the first role that I got to play in a mythological show was also of Hanuman. When I told my father, he said, ‘aise hi nahi hota Hanuman ka role, bahut mehnat karni padti hai.’ I took his advice and worked on my body for three-four months before I started shooting,” says the former ‘Bigg Boss’ contestant, who is presently working in a play. “I really enjoy being on stage and that is one of the reasons why I agreed to be a part of Ramlila,” he adds.  Singh tells  that he has been visiting Delhi as a child, as his family had a house in Hauz Khas and Panchsheel Park. “My father also got a house as an MP at Ashoka Road. So we used to come to Delhi often. Delhi winters have always been special for me, and I often tell people that I have attended some of the best weddings in Delhi. There is no place in the world which has wedding celebrations like here. I also miss going to Old Delhi. It used to be so different, but it is too crowded now,” he says.  The Times of  India : 16th. May,17

Leave a Reply

