“I WAS HAPPY MY SHORT FILM WAS SCREENING AT CANNES SHORT FILM SHOWCASE, BUT I COULD NOT AFFORD TO GO TO FRANCE” : SAYS VENIKA MITRA

Follow your dream; they know the way. Venika Mitra couldn’t agree more. The talented director has done India proud by winning the Beyond Border: Diversity In Cannes Short Film Showcase. An independent event in the sidelines of the Cannes, the fest screens short films from across the globe. Venika’s entry – ‘All I Want’ – is a 7-min-24-sec short about a street urchin’s desire to buy one mango.  Venika says,”I always wanted to tell stories. After graduating from Delhi University, I came to Mumbai in 2008 to work in films. I was 20 then. I wanted to know the process of working in films and experience how films are made. I became an assistant director as that’s how anyone starts in direction. ‘All I Want’ is my first short film. Being an assistant director can teach you many things, but it doesn’t get you a producer to back your feature film unless you have proven yourself in direction. And for me, the only way to do that was making my own film. This is why I chose to make a short film.”  The Times  of  India : 30th. May,17

Leave a Reply

