“I CHOSE JMC OVER LSR BECAUSE I WANTED TO STUDY IN A GOOD-LOOKING COLLEGE” : SAYS RAKUL PREET SINGH

She started modelling while she was still in college and participated in the Miss Indiapageant in 2011. Though Rakul Preet Singh was placed fifth and did not win the crown, she ended up winning five titles at the pageant. She might be known for her Telugu movies, but Rakul, who completed her school and college education from Delhi, insists that she is a ‘Dilli ki ladki’ at heart.  An alumna of Army Public School, Dhaula Kuan, and Jesus and Mary College, Rakul did her graduation in Mathematics (Hons). “When I took admission, the cut-off was 93% for my course, and I had scored 93.2%. I lived in Defence Colony and wanted to study in South Campus. When the admissions process started, I visited North Campus, but I felt it was very crowded and people were not properly dressed. JMC is one of the finest colleges in Delhi and has a completely different feel, with its open roads and great crowd,” says Rakul, adding, “I was also getting LSR, and my mum took me there and said, ‘Why don’t you take admission here? LSR se better college koi nahin hai’. I told her, ‘There is no campus feel to the college, there is nothing around and I don’t like the red colour of the building’. I wanted to study in a good-looking college! But on a serious note, Math (Hons) was better at JMC and the Economics course was better at LSR.”  Like most Delhiites, Rakul also misses the food here. She says, “I especially miss the chaat. During my college days, I used to go to CP and south Delhi to have chaat. I don’t like it when people in Mumbai say that you can try the paani puri there – I don’t want paani puri, I want golgappe! When in Delhi, I always go to the places where I used eat chaat during college days.”  The Times  of  India : 11th. July,17

Leave a Reply

