“FAILURE IS MY ONLY SECURITY AND I KNOW THAT IT IS INEVITABLE” : SAYS ACTRESS ATHIYA SHETTY

Athiya Shetty  debut, backed by Salman Khan, may not have won her critical acclaim, but her screen presence couldn’t be ignored. From a heady romance, she has now plunged into a spunky wedding comedy. As Suniel Shetty’s daughter Athiya Shetty gears up for her second outing, ‘Mubarakan’, she admits that she is equally nervous and excited. In a coffee-laden conversation with BT, she opens up about aspirations, inspirations and insecurities. Excerpts:   Considering the fact that your much-anticipated debut didn’t do as well as expected, the second outing is extremely crucial. So, what drove you to take up ‘Mubarakan’?
I was very clear that I wanted to do a commercial film that would allow me to do things that I really enjoy. I love dancing and being the quintessential Bollywood heroine and ‘Mubarakan’ offered me a chance to do that. Anees Bazmee (director) is the king of comedy and chaos. Anil Kapoor, Arjun Kapoor and Ileana D’Cruz… I don’t think I could have asked for a better team. Each one has different experiences and knowledge. I was the only one who had acted in just one film, but they didn’t treat me like a newbie. Comedy is not easy, but you learn so much from it. So, I didn’t have a reason to say no.   The Times of  India : 20th. July,17

Leave a Reply

