ACTRESS ILEANA D’CRUZ SAYS SHE IS NOT INSECURE :

She is just like Sweety, her character in ‘Mubarakan’ — funny, feisty and a total firecracker. Despite juggling a choc-a-block schedule and city-hopping to promote the Anees Bazmee directorial, Ileana D’Cruz was bursting with energy when we caught up with her for a quick conversation.  In a heart-to-heart chat, the sassy lady spoke to us about the challenges she faced while playing a typical Punjabi kudi in this mad caper, how she doesn’t mind doing two-heroine films and her reluctance to talk about her love life. She said,”Yes, and the energy they brought on the set was infectious. Sense of humour probably runs in their family. Despite being a senior, Anilji is respectful of Arjun’s suggestions. They are professionals on the set, but the minute the camera stops rolling, they become this inseparable uncle-nephew jodi, cracking jokes and pulling people’s legs. The two, along with writer Balliji (Balwinder Singh Janjua), would play a lot of pranks on me. Once, while shooting in Chandigarh, they showed me portraits of people and asked me to identify them. I messed it up and I think I called someone Daler Mehndi.” She also said, “I sign films based on the story, so when Anees came to me with this script, I was quite excited, especially because the comedy factor was mind-blowing. But at the same time, I thought that he must be crazy to cast a true blue Goan like me as a Punjabi. Sweety is a strong woman; when she gets mad, she rattles off in Punjabi. I was very sure from the beginning that I didn’t want to look like someone who is trying to pass off as a Punjaban. Their culture is colourful and the language, beautiful. So, I wanted to pronounce the words correctly and be fluent in the language. I sat with the writers and asked them to repeat the sentences till I got them right”.  The Times  of  India :  22nd. July,17

Leave a Reply

